EPG Frankfurt Symposium hosted by the Deutsche Bundesbank in December 2017

Lead and Concluding Speakers:


Moderator: Raghuram Rajan (EPG Member)

  • Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Former Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission of India

  • Mohamed El-Erian, Chief Economic Advisor to the Management Board of Allianz

  • Sharan Burrow, General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation

  • Harold James, Claude and Kelly Professor in European Studies at Princeton University

  • Jean-Pierre Landau, Professor of Economics at Sciences Po

Day 1 – Development

Session 1: Investment in Infrastructure and in People – Governance Imperatives for Crowding Private and Institutional Finance

Moderator: Marek Belka (EPG Member)

  • Xavier Musca, Deputy CEO of Crédit Agricole Group

  • Adebayo Ogunlesi, Chairman and Managing Partner of Global Infrastructure Partners

  • John Lipsky, Peter G. Peterson Distinguished Scholar at the Henry A. Kissinger Center for Global Affairs at Johns Hopkins University and former First Deputy Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund

  • Chris Heathcote, CEO of the Global Infrastructure Hub

  • Mark Wiseman, Global Head of Active Equities at BlackRock

Session 2: Cooperating with the International System to Address Non-financial Spillovers Whilst Promoting Development Goals

Moderator: Lord Nicholas Stern (EPG Member)

  • Amina Mohammed, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations

  • Jeremy Farrar, Director of the Wellcome Trust

  • Mark Suzman, Chief Strategy Officer at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

  • Amar Bhattacharya, Senior Fellow at the Global Economy and Development Program at the Brookings Institution

  • Annalisa Prizzon, Senior Research Fellow at the Overseas Development Institute

Session 3: Coherence amongst International Financial Institutions (IFIs)

Moderator: Andrés Velasco (EPG Member)

  • Homi Kharas, Interim Vice President and Director of the Global Economy and Development Program at the Brookings Institution

  • Caroline Heider, Director-General and Senior Vice President of Evaluation at the World Bank Group

  • Charles Collyns, Director of the Independent Evaluation Office of the International Monetary Fund

  • Donald Kaberuka, Former President of the African Development Bank

  • Abhijit Banerjee, Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • Richard Manning, Senior Research Fellow at the Blavatnik School of Government at Oxford University

  • Mark Plant, Director of Development Finance and Senior Policy Fellow at the Center for Global Development

Response to Development Sessions

  • Luis Moreno, President of the Inter-American Development Bank (Representing Regional Development Banks)

  • Kristalina Georgieva, Chief Executive Officer of the World Bank Group

Day 2 – Finance

Session 1: Mitigating Capital Flow and Exchange Rate Volatility

Moderator: Jacob Frenkel (EPG Member)

  • Maurice Obstfeld, Chief Economist at the International Monetary Fund

  • Guillermo Ortiz, Chairman for Latin America (ex-Brazil) of BTG Pactual and former Governor of the Bank of Mexico

  • Masahiro Kawai, Dean and CEO at the Asian Development Bank Institute

  • Hélène Rey, Professor of Economics at London Business School

  • Catherine Mann, Former Chief Economist at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Session 2: The Global Financial Safety Net

Moderator: Jean-Claude Trichet (EPG Member)

  • Adam Posen, President of the Peterson Institute for International Economics

  • Yiping Huang, Professor of Economics at Peking University

  • Jean Pisani-Ferry, Professor of Economics at Sciences Po and the Hertie School of Governance

  • Daniel Gros, Director of the Centre for European Policy Studies

Response to Finance Sessions

  • Agustín Carstens, General Manager of the Bank for International Settlements

  • David Lipton, First Deputy Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund

Symposium Participants:

  • Montek Singh Ahluwalia

  • Joachim von Amsberg (Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank)

  • Abhijit Banerjee (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

  • Amar Bhattacharya (Brookings Institution)

  • Sharan Burrow (International Trade Union Confederation)

  • Agustín Carstens (Bank for International Settlements)

  • Luis Miguel Castilla (Inter-American Development Bank)

  • İbrahim Halil Çanakcı (Islamic Development Bank)

  • Sir Suma Chakrabarti (European Bank for Reconstruction and Development)

  • Charles Collyns (International Monetary Fund)

  • Mohamed El-Erian (Allianz)

  • Jeremy Farrar (Wellcome Trust)

  • Ambroise Fayolle (European Investment Bank)

  • Kristalina Georgieva (World Bank Group)

  • Stephen Groff (Asian Development Bank)

  • Daniel Gros (Centre for European Policy Studies)

  • Jerome Haegeli (Swiss Re)

  • Chris Heathcote (Global Infrastructure Hub)

  • Caroline Heider (World Bank Group)

  • Werner Hoyer (European Investment Bank)

  • Yiping Huang (Peking University)

  • Harold James (Princeton University)

  • Mohamed Jouini (Islamic Development Bank)

  • K. V. Kamath (New Development Bank)

  • Donald Kaberuka

  • Kapil Kapoor (African Development Bank)

  • Masahiro Kawai (Asian Development Bank Institute)

  • Homi Kharas (Brookings Institution)

  • Tomoyuki Kimura (Asian Development Bank)

  • Hans Peter Lankes (International Finance Corporation)

  • Alexia Latortue (European Bank for Reconstruction and Development)

  • Jean-Pierre Landau, (Sciences Po)

  • John Lipsky (Johns Hopkins University)

  • David Lipton (International Monetary Fund)

  • Catherine Mann (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)

  • Richard Manning (Oxford University)

  • Amina Mohammed (United Nations)

  • Luis Moreno (Inter-American Development Bank)

  • Xavier Musca (Crédit Agricole Group)

  • Maurice Obstfeld (International Monetary Fund)

  • Adebayo Ogunlesi (Global Infrastructure Partners)

  • Guillermo Ortiz (BTG Pactual)

  • Jean Pisani-Ferry (Sciences Po and the Hertie School of Governance)

  • Adam Posen (Peterson Institute for International Economics)

  • Mark Plant (Center for Global Development)

  • Annalisa Prizzon (Overseas Development Institute)

  • Subrahmanya Pulle Srinivas (New Development Bank)

  • Hélène Rey (London Business School)

  • Rodrigo Salvado (Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

  • Hanni Schölermann (International Monetary Fund)

  • Hyun Song Shin (Bank for International Settlements)

  • Samir Suleymanov (World Bank Group)

  • Mark Suzman (Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)

  • Mark Wiseman (BlackRock)

  • Simon Zadek (United Nations)